Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 ... LastLast
Results 181 to 200 of 293

Thread: PC Build & Support Thread

  1. #181
    Juice Box
    pk fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    3,820
    Got my PC running a few days ago, and wow. Everything on max settings and the framerate is still as smooth as butter. I've successfully been converted.


    YEEEAAARRR!!!

  2. #182
    That's not a knife...
    Mighty Hatman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Hull in England in Britain in The UK
    Posts
    16,139
    That's awesome, dude.
    Quote Originally Posted by Wedge View Post
    I wanted to make an APU build, but eventually found that you can get a cheap CPU/GPU combo for only a few bucks more and end up with like 2-3 times the performance in games. So unless you're trying to make something with a tiny form factor that can't fit a GPU, they're kind of worthless.
    Depends if you're able to get a CPU and GPU at the same time. Someone who wants to be able to play PC games now and can't afford a GPU for a while might be better off having an APU system. I think there will always be scenarios that are good for them.

  3. #183
    Honkey Kong
    usedtabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    WiiUniqueNegroesClub
    Posts
    27,686
    Waiting on Black Friday sales. But that recent price drop on Nvidia GPUs almost made me dive in.

  4. #184
    Juice Box
    pk fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    3,820
    Quote Originally Posted by usedtabe View Post
    Waiting on Black Friday sales. But that recent price drop on Nvidia GPUs almost made me dive in.
    Yeah, I could have saved 20 bucks of or so if I waited. Oh well though, still totally worth it.

    I need to pick up a monitor and speakers on BF.

  5. #185
    That's not a knife...
    Mighty Hatman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Hull in England in Britain in The UK
    Posts
    16,139
    Hoping to get a monitor in whatever form BF has over here this year. It seems to get bigger every year.

  6. #186
    Honkey Kong
    usedtabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    WiiUniqueNegroesClub
    Posts
    27,686
    Just got this badass monitor.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824236174

    Only $150 with warranty after rebates.

  7. #187
    King of Ties 'n' Gifs 'n' Shit
    Mix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    5,326
    Nice, ASUS makes some good stuff!

    My bro and I grabbed an HP 22BW for my mom and it looks great!

    I snagged myself a 23" Dell UltraSharp last year for $180, best screen I have ever owned.

  8. #188

  9. #189
    Honkey Kong
    usedtabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    WiiUniqueNegroesClub
    Posts
    27,686
    My laptop:



    Not sure if my GPU idling at that temp is bad or not.

  10. #190
    That's not a knife...
    Mighty Hatman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Hull in England in Britain in The UK
    Posts
    16,139
    I wouldn't worry too much about that heat.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tarvu View Post
    Next time Steve is mine. You will have that CPU for a long fucking time and I hate you for it.

  11. #191
    [Level 12: CHET]
    Everyday Legend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Gunshine State
    Posts
    12,016
    Means it's staying nice and cold - probably not flexing any serious muscle at the moment.

    Now, fire up something demanding, and watch it sweat.

  12. #192
    That's not a knife...
    Mighty Hatman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Hull in England in Britain in The UK
    Posts
    16,139
    The laptop is probably very good at knowing when to not use the GPU for the sake of battery life. It could even just use the integrated for light stuff and that temp is just coming off other things.

  13. #193
    Quote Originally Posted by Mighty Hatman View Post
    Next time Steve is mine. You will have that CPU for a long fucking time and I hate you for it.
    With my big-ass cooler I hope it will run forever. Also, do I have enough RAM?

  14. #194
    That's not a knife...
    Mighty Hatman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Hull in England in Britain in The UK
    Posts
    16,139
    Yes.


    You terrible person.

  15. #195
    Kraut Kontrol OpiumHerz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Guilt Country
    Posts
    4,550
    I have two monitors as of this day. Now I want my new monitor for my surfing and chatting and stuff, and #1 for playing and watching videos etc. Watching videos works fine, but games give me a bit of trouble. When I start a game and it runs, then go into my ICQ window on monitor #2, the game is minimized. As if I ALT+TABbed out of it with just one screen. Is there a way to prevent this, except playing games in windowed mode? If I have a game on monitor #1 running, I want it be up no matter what I do on monitor #2.

  16. #196
    That's not a knife...
    Mighty Hatman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Hull in England in Britain in The UK
    Posts
    16,139
    I actually don't think there's any way to solve this outside of windowed mode.

  17. #197
    [Level 12: CHET]
    Everyday Legend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Gunshine State
    Posts
    12,016
    Try DisplayFusion.

  18. #198
    Kraut Kontrol OpiumHerz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Guilt Country
    Posts
    4,550
    Quote Originally Posted by Everyday Legend View Post
    Try DisplayFusion.
    That was actually the first thing I installed, but I didn't find any options doing what I wanted it to do.

  19. #199
    [Level 12: CHET]
    Everyday Legend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Gunshine State
    Posts
    12,016
    That sucks. Sorry about that.


    I can split the two on my MacBook using VMWare Fusion, so you may want to try a virtual machine for the least system-intensive process.

  20. #200
    [Level 6: Robot]
    Wedge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    1,383
    Quote Originally Posted by OpiumHerz View Post
    I have two monitors as of this day. Now I want my new monitor for my surfing and chatting and stuff, and #1 for playing and watching videos etc. Watching videos works fine, but games give me a bit of trouble. When I start a game and it runs, then go into my ICQ window on monitor #2, the game is minimized. As if I ALT+TABbed out of it with just one screen. Is there a way to prevent this, except playing games in windowed mode? If I have a game on monitor #1 running, I want it be up no matter what I do on monitor #2.

    Just run all your games in windowed mode. There are programs that can get most games to run in a "borderless" fullscreen windowed mode, for the ones that don't already support it. You'll lose v-sync like this, but that's it.
    Last edited by Wedge; 10-29-2013 at 11:19 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •