Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 14 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 293

Thread: PC Build & Support Thread

  1. #61
    That's not a knife...
    Mighty Hatman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Hull in England in Britain in The UK
    Posts
    16,139
    It's not on-board, noobs. It's integrated with the CPU. On-board describes something that is literally on the motherboard. Damn old people can't keep up with the their tech mumbo jumbo these days.


    While a dedicated GPU might be better this isn't shitty Intel integrated graphics we're talking about. When they say 7660 they actually mean it. The only thing you have to keep an eye out on is the speed of the RAM but Gravy has went for 1866 which is pretty damn fast.

    I'm sure Haswell's new integrated is more competitive but AMD are doing things right as far as integrated is concerned.

  2. #62
    If I kept up with this sort of shit, I'd respectfully wish to be put down. Didn't know such a thing even existed.

  3. #63
    That's not a knife...
    Mighty Hatman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Hull in England in Britain in The UK
    Posts
    16,139
    Just noticed AMD brought out the new version of the 5800k last month but the benchmarks suggest it isn't that much better. The price is still right for the 5800k with that bundle.

  4. #64
    [Level 7: Sentinel]
    Arttemis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,168
    My wife's $400 A6-4400M powered laptop puts up some decent fps on low-res gaming. Their APUs are damn fine budget rigs! Intel has literally 50x the amount of money as AMD has at their disposal, but the competition for cheap computing is definitely in the underdog's court.
    Last edited by Arttemis; 07-03-2013 at 10:36 AM.

  5. #65
    [Level 8: Skynet]
    Gorilla Gravy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    The Erogenous Zone
    Posts
    2,723
    Left 4 Dead 2 is the only game I own that runs on Linux so as long as it can run that at a decent framerate than I'm happy.

  6. #66
    That's not a knife...
    Mighty Hatman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Hull in England in Britain in The UK
    Posts
    16,139
    It helps that AMD bought out ATI.

  7. #67
    [Level 8: Skynet]
    Gorilla Gravy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    The Erogenous Zone
    Posts
    2,723
    Whoever said building a PC was the easiest thing in the world to do was talking out of their ass.

  8. #68
    [Level 10: Lobster Milkshake]
    PhilKenSebben's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Sacksofmenyo
    Posts
    6,666
    Eh, its just like sensitive legos. To me at least.

  9. #69
    [Level 3: Humanoid] g0ggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    71
    Quote Originally Posted by PhilKenSebben View Post
    Eh, its just like sensitive legos. To me at least.
    This. The only thing you need to be really careful about is putting in the CPU and even then you just have to not touch the gold pins and that's it.

  10. #70
    That's not a knife...
    Mighty Hatman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Hull in England in Britain in The UK
    Posts
    16,139
    Don't do it without watching a tutorial. Can't go wrong with the Newegg tutorial on Youtube.

    Just make sure you put it in the right hole and don't apply too much force

  11. #71
    I was going to say it's like super easy lego because the parts mostly only fit in the right place. I'm always accidentally putting USB cables into Ethernet sockets though.

  12. #72
    That's not a knife...
    Mighty Hatman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Hull in England in Britain in The UK
    Posts
    16,139
    You deviant.

  13. #73
    [Level 8: Skynet]
    Gorilla Gravy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    The Erogenous Zone
    Posts
    2,723
    My roommate helped me build most of it last night.

    I need to go out and buy a disc drive because the motherboard or CPU or whatever came with a disc I need to install.

  14. #74
    That's not a knife...
    Mighty Hatman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Hull in England in Britain in The UK
    Posts
    16,139
    You need it to run the computer? You shouldn't need to buy a disc drive for that. That would be a waste.

  15. #75
    [Level 8: Skynet]
    Gorilla Gravy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    The Erogenous Zone
    Posts
    2,723
    Well what else can I do?

    Disc says "MSi Drivers and Utilities" and under that it says "AMD Chipset."

  16. #76
    [Level 8: Skynet]
    Gorilla Gravy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    The Erogenous Zone
    Posts
    2,723
    Quote Originally Posted by Gorilla Gravy View Post
    Well what else can I do?

    Disc says "MSi Drivers and Utilities" and under that it says "AMD Chipset."
    Okay you can download the drivers and such from the company website but none of them say they're compatible with Linux. Does it really matter?

  17. #77
    [Level 8: Skynet]
    Gorilla Gravy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    The Erogenous Zone
    Posts
    2,723
    Quote Originally Posted by Gorilla Gravy View Post
    Okay you can download the drivers and such from the company website but none of them say they're compatible with Linux. Does it really matter?
    Oh God this computer shit is a nightmare.

    Is it possible the power supply isn't compatible with my motherboard? Most of the doohickeys that come out of it don't seem to plug into anything.

  18. #78
    [Level 12: CHET]
    Everyday Legend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Gunshine State
    Posts
    11,806
    Quote Originally Posted by Gorilla Gravy View Post

    Okay you can download the drivers and such from the company website but none of them say they're compatible with Linux. Does it really matter?
    What version of Linux are you running, first of all? Ubuntu? Mint?

  19. #79
    [Level 8: Skynet]
    Gorilla Gravy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    The Erogenous Zone
    Posts
    2,723
    Gonna be using Mint.

  20. #80
    [Level 2: Human]
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    11
    The Psu will have more cables than you need as some people have multiple HDD's or GPU's and loadsof case fans. You do not need to buy a disk drive. To get started all you need is the lan driver from AMD's website. Copy it from another computer and transfer the file to yours then run the .exe. Once you have that you can go to AMD's site and download the drivers that are on the disk ie,usb,chipset,sata being the other 3important ones.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Sorry forgot to say you will need to enter the model of your mobo/apu to get the correct drivers so they are compatable on your set-up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •