Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Firefox becoming incompatible?

  1. #1
    [Level 6: Robot]
    StriderHoang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    CALifornia
    Posts
    954

    Firefox becoming incompatible?

    I've made posts to the Forums through my preferred browser, Firefox before. But as of late, I have been unable to do so. The post simply doesn't load or occur.

    I've gotten on Chrome and it works on that (which is how this post is being formed).

    I tried safe mode for FF but that didn't work either.

    Any suggestions or help?

  2. #2
    Admin / Midget King
    Aaron Mxy Yost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Flying blind on a rocket cycle
    Posts
    13,152
    I installed Firefox 11.0 to test this out, and so far I'm not seeing any problems. Have you tried updating the browser yet, or are you locked to a certain version for some reason?

  3. #3
    This? This right here? This is why I don't venture into the forums. Mr Andy Dixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Boy See
    Posts
    4,743
    Tony Ponce was having some issues in Elephant using Firefox as well. Maybe you two happen to be using the same version and it just happens to be broke?

  4. #4
    Pow! Right in the kisser!
    PappaDukes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Death Row
    Posts
    13,716
    I'm using Firefox 9.0.1 and it works beautifully.

  5. #5
    [Level 7: Sentinel]
    Trev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Sconsin
    Posts
    1,647
    I 'm on FF 11.0 (they really went crazy with those version numbers) which is the latest version and I don't have problems with posts going through, but after they're posted it can go to the cached page without my post instead of refreshing. It happens more on the cblogs than the forums, but I think I've seen it on both.

    I'm going to use this post to test it out, then edit.

    Edit:
    Quick replies appear, sometmies combinations of post, following a link, then back causes the post to "disappear" until the page is refreshed.
    Last edited by Trev; 03-20-2012 at 11:21 AM. Reason: Yes

  6. #6
    Pow! Right in the kisser!
    PappaDukes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Death Row
    Posts
    13,716
    I just updated to version 11.0 and still working like a charm.

  7. #7
    Beard Master Ali D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    12,231
    Quote Originally Posted by PappaDukes View Post
    I just updated to version 11.0 and still working like a charm.
    Just for reference, are you using FF on Windows or Mac. Just trying to get a picture of what's working and what's not. Support head people are aware of the problem, as Mxy and Andy mentioned.

  8. #8
    [Level 6: Robot]
    StriderHoang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    CALifornia
    Posts
    954
    Windows. Probably a problem local to my laptop as FF on different computers (like campus public computers) works.

    Maybe I'll try clearing cache. That's usually a good canned answer.

  9. #9
    Admin / Midget King
    Aaron Mxy Yost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Flying blind on a rocket cycle
    Posts
    13,152
    Tony's problem was with FF 11.0 actually, my understanding is Mozilla is supposed to be working on a patch for that specific issue. So this one is probably an entirely different issue. Got a request in with Niero to upgrade to the latest version of vb when he has a chance, hopefully that might fix things here. Sadly Firefox is kinda notorious for this sort of crap, which is why I ditched it a long time ago.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •